Action Research 2015-2016: Survey Findings

  •  50% of students believed that 3/4 of their work was excellent.  Students do not have a clear idea of what excellence is and are too happy to settle for mediocrity as long as the work is complete.
  • 50% of students identified the group task as their best piece of work.  Confidence seems higher when the responsibility for completing a task is shared.  Owning individual achievement is weak with only one pupil identifying their personal learning journal as their best piece of work.
  • 100% of students reflected that they had successfully met the target: I can carefully edit my work to make sure that my spelling, punctuation and grammar is accurate and I am writing in a clear and interesting way.  This is the one target that was made explicit from the very beginning of the year giving pupils more time to establish learning routines of self and peer editing and becoming used to having their work returned for improvement if it contained errors.

Student comments on successful Learning Behaviours:

“This was my best produced work because I took my time.”

“I always check my work with green pen before handing it in to Ms Welsford.”

“I focused on it more and led everyone to do the work.”

“I now make it in my own words but I find it difficult to do it.  I am proud that I have met this target.”

“Working as a team creates more ideas.”

“When I am writing I check my punctuation and grammar the first time.”

“I can now write in my own words because I practiced in school.”

“I checked my work in green pen and my friend checked it again.”

Student comments on their weakest Learning Behaviours:

“I am trying to stop chatting with friends and get my work finished.”

“I find it difficult to explain something that is clear in my head to someone who doesn’t find it clear.”

“I find it difficult to put my commas in the right place.  However, I go back to check them.”

Leave a Reply

