Planning – friend not foe!

This is @LearningSpy’s latest blog. The first para really rang true for me:

As a new teacher, lesson planning seemed to suck up almost all of my available time and energy. Looking back over those frenetic early years it’s become increasingly clear that I wasted an awful lot of effort designing activities rather than considering what my students needed to learn. That is to say, I put most of my effort into things that had only a marginal impact on students’ learning.

I know that the moment my teaching reached outstanding was the moment I began to plan for progress, not just fill the lesson with engaging activities. I found my old planners this week when cleaning out my classroom cupboard. Pages and pages of activity driven lessons. Kids engaged and happy but making no progress! Now, if time is tight, I make sure I have an objective and a differentiation idea as a minimum then sort out the activities on the go.

And, as this blog suggests, I prioritise marking over making resources. Marking is the best planning, after all!

Leave a Reply

